Who is playing in the Davis Cup 2022? Players and team captains for each nation

The Davis Cup Finals get underway on September 13 with some of the best male tennis players set to represent their nations.

Big stars from across the world will compete in the group stages over the next week for a place in the knockout rounds.

Teams will compete in singles and doubles matches as players get the rare chance to represent their nation on the world stage.

The Sporting News looks at which nations and players will be in action.

2022 Davis Cup Finals: Which nations have qualified?

A total of 16 nations have successfully qualified for the Davis Cup Finals in 2022.

Each nation has been put into a group of four with the top two teams in each section set to advance to the quarter-finals.

MORE: Everything you need to know about the Davis Cup in 2022

Reigning champions Russia qualified for the group stage but were subsequently banned due to the ongoing conflict in the Ukraine.

Serbia were named to replace Russia with Canada and Great Britain handed wildcards into the tournament.

Group A Group B Group C Group D
Croatia Spain French United States
Italy Canada Germany Great Britain
Argentine bondage Belgium Kazakhstan
Sweden South Korea Australia Netherlands

Who is playing in the 2022 Davis Cup Finals?

Each nation that’s progressed to the Davis Cup Finals can pick up to five players to represent them in the group stages.

This list is then reduced by team captains to four eligible players prior to each tie taking place.

Here are the players initially picked by each nation:

Argentina Davis Cup team

  • Diego Schwartzman
  • Francisco Cerundolo
  • Sebastian Baez
  • Horacio Zeballos
  • Maximo Gonzalez

Croatia Davis Cup team

  • Coric terminal
  • Gojo terminal
  • Nino Serdarusic
  • Mate Pavic
  • Nikola Mektic

Italy Davis Cup team

  • Jannik Sinner
  • Matteo Berrettini
  • Lorenzo Musetti
  • Fabio Fognini
  • Simone Bolelli

Sweden Davis Cup team

  • Mikael Ymer
  • Elias Ymer
  • Dragos Nicolae Madaras
  • Jonathan Mridha
  • Andre Goransson

Canada Davis Cup team

  • Félix Auger-Aliassime
  • Vasek Pospisil
  • Alexis Galarneau
  • Gabriel Diallo

Serbia Davis Cup team

  • Miomir Kecmanovic
  • Filip Krajinovic
  • Laslo Dere
  • Dusan Lajovic
  • Nikola Cacic

South Korea Davis Cup team

  • Kwon Soon-woo
  • Hong Seong-chan
  • Nam Ji-sung
  • Song Min-kyu

Spain Davis Cup team

  • Carlos Alcaraz
  • Roberto Bautista Agut
  • Albert Ramos Vinolas
  • Pedro Martinez
  • Marcel Granollers

Australia Davis Cup team

  • Alex de Minaur
  • Thanai Kokkinakis
  • Jason Jubler
  • Max Purcell
  • Matt Ebden

Belgium Davis Cup team

  • David Goffin
  • Zizou Bergs
  • Michael Geerts
  • Sander Gille
  • Joran Vliegen

France Davis Cup team

  • Adrian Mannarino
  • Benjamin Bonzi
  • Arthur Rinderknecht
  • Richard Gasquet
  • Nicolas Mahut

Germany Davis Cup team

  • Alexander Zverev
  • Oscar Otte
  • Jan-Lennard Struff
  • Tim Putz
  • Kevin Krawietz

Great Britain Davis Cup team

  • Cameron Norrie
  • Dan Evans
  • Andy Murray
  • Joe Salisbury
  • Neal Skupski

Kazakhstan Davis Cup team

  • Alexander Bublik
  • Mikhail Kukushkin
  • Dmitry Popko
  • Aleksandr Nedovyesov
  • Andrey Golubev

Netherlands Davis Cup team

  • Botic van de Zandschulp
  • Tallon Griekspoor
  • Tim van Rijthoven
  • Wesley Koolhof
  • Matthew Middelkoop

United States Davis Cup team

  • Taylor Fritz
  • Tommy Paul
  • Jack Sock
  • Rajeev Ram

Who are the Davis Cup captains?

While the players determine the outcome of individual matches in the Davis Cup, team captains play a big role overall.

Team captains are often former players, pick a nation’s squads and decide on which players should compete in certain ties.

These calls can prove decisive with the team captain also often providing important support from the stands.

Nation Team Captain
Argentine Guillermo Coria
Croatia Vedran Martic
Italy Filippo Volandri
Sweden Johan Hedsberg
Canada Frank Dancevic
bondage Viktor Trooitsky
South Korea Seungkyu Park
Spain Sergi Bruguera
Australia Lleyton Hewitt
Belgium Johan Van Herck
French Sebastien Grosjean
Germany Michael Kohlmann
Great Britain Leon Smith
Kazakhstan Yuri Schukin
Netherlands Paul Haarhuis
United States Bob Bryan