AGM 2021/22 Outcome announcement | October 13, 2022

13 October 2022 | Tennis Victoria

Following the 2022 Tennis Victoria Annual General Meeting, Tennis Victoria is pleased to announce the election of John Bailey and Fiona Walker as Directors on the Board. Both were voted onto the Board by Affiliates at the Tennis Victoria AGM last night which was conducted virtually.

Due to the retirements of two Tennis Victoria Directors, both Bailey and Walker are new additions to the Board.

John Bailey joins the Tennis Victoria Board with an extensive government background, most recently through his current role as a Director, Executive Office, for the Victorian State Government. John also has a strong financial background with his work leading Invest Victoria and as a Managing Director for Standard & Poor’s. John has a passion for grassroots tennis through his role as the President of the Elwood Tennis Club.

Fiona Walker joins the Tennis Victoria Board with a strong background in Digital/IT through her current role as Senior Data Management Specialist at Telstra. Fiona has demonstrated her government relations background through her role on the Committee at the Riddell’s Creek Tennis Club where she is President as well as President of the Macedon Ranges Tennis Association.

Tennis Victoria would like to thank Simon Meadows and Caryle Demarte for their contribution to the Tennis Victoria Board over their respective terms.

Simon Meadows was appointed to the Board in February 2014 to fill a casual vacancy as Country Director. Simon was subsequently re-elected as a Director with the 2022 AGM marking the end of his maximum three consecutive terms on the Board. Simon served as Country Committee Chair and championed governance reforms to develop the Country Advisory Group. Simon also served on the Audit and Risk Committee and Nominations Committee during his time on the Board. Simon continues his role as President of Kyneton and District Tennis Club.

Caryle Demarte was elected onto the Board at the 2019 election. Caryle has served on the Audit and Risk Committee and Tennis Australia Governance Review Working Group. Caryle is also the President of Royal Park Tennis Club.

Tennis Victoria President Jacqueline Pirone also acknowledged the outstanding contribution by Audit and Risk Committee Chair Ian Jenkins who has also stepped down from his role after 16 years. “On behalf of the TV Board and TV’s affiliates, we thank Ian, Simon and Caryle for their dedication, leadership and service to Tennis Victoria. All have been very influential in their roles and have made such a positive contribution to the organization and the sport as a whole.”

Following the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting, the Tennis Victoria Board decided to re-appoint Jacqueline Pirone to the Board of Tennis Victoria (Pirone’s initial 3-year term as an appointed Director had ended at the conclusion of the AGM). Jacqueline Pirone was then unanimously supported by the Board to continue as President of the organization.

To view and download the 2021/22 Tennis Victoria Annual Report, pleaseclick here.